The Extradition (Provisional Arrest) Act 2020

05 November 2020

On 22 October 2020, the Extradition (Provisional Arrest) Bill received Royal Assent. The newly minted Act creates a power of arrest, without the need to first obtain a warrant from a UK Court.

It amends the Extradition Act 2003 by inserting sections 74A-E, and adds Schedule A1 which contains a list of specified countries to which the power applies; Australia, Canada, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Switzerland, the USA, all the EU Member State, Iceland and Norway. Though such a power already exists under Part 1 of the Extradition Act, the new power contains more stringent requirements.

Continue reading this article in Extradition Hub.